top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCatherine

Birthday Notes

Today is Dad’s birthday. He would have been 81. I’ve previously written about celebrating this day in the past with his favorite beer (Heineken) and the film Memphis Belle. Today my husband and I have our Heinekens in hand, and we've selected another of Dad’s favorite movies: Amadeus.


I was very young when I viewed this film for the first time, but it obviously stuck with me because I watched it again. And again. And again! It’s now one of my favorites. Each time I watch it, I am captivated by the outstanding performances and moved by Salieri’s struggle with his faith and Mozart’s hidden pain.


But the film’s star is its masterfully curated soundtrack. Every time I hear it, I am swept away by the sounds of Mozart’s beautiful sonatas and concertos. Each track accompanies its corresponding scene perfectly and tells a story of yearning, passion, pain, and/or absolution. Gloomy liturgical strains meld effortlessly into evocative operatic songs and are followed by joyous baroque melodies.


Dad loved the film as much as I did, but my memories are mostly of his love of the soundtrack. Back in the day, our home had a record player in the family room accompanied by at least fifty records, including the two-record set of the Amadeus soundtrack.


Amadeus was the soundtrack of my childhood and the reason why I was the only kid I knew who enjoyed classical music. Its familiar refrains played in the background as I sat on the floor of the family room playing with Legos, completed homework at the kitchen table, and as I helped with housework. I still listen to it periodically, especially when I need a mood boost or as I complete a difficult work assignment. When I do, I think of Dad playing the record and jokingly exclaiming “Too many notes!” (a classic line from the movie). The film and those many notes will always be a presence that will accompany my struggles and joys. It’s the soundtrack of my life.


Happy Birthday, Dad.



45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page